Tanak and Gross to open Rally Saaremaa in WRC Cars

The 44th Rally Saaremaa is held on 7 – 8 October, and the entry list is as long as it was expected. A total of 157 crews have signed up and first on the road is local hero Ott Tanak co-driven by Kuldar Sikk. Their car in Rally Saaremaa will be a Ford Focus WRC 03. Second on the road will be Georg Gross/Raigo Mõlder, participating with Ford Focus WRC 08.

Ott Tänak said: “I’m looking forward starting in Rally Saaremaa with a WRC car. Our main goal this year is giving the best in SWRC and competing with our S2000 car in Estonia between France and Spain is complicated and risky. I always feel good competing in Saaremaa and this year I have a great opportunity to do it with a WRC car.”

There is also a good battle in Group N: Kaspar Koitla and Andres Ots secured the Estonian Rally Champion title at the Mulgi Rally, but Janis Vorobjovs/Guntars Zicans, Raul Jeets/Andrus Toom and Sander Pärn/Ken Järveoja will all fight for the second place. Besides the Estonians, many top drivers from Latvia, Lithuania, Finland, Russia and Ukraine will start in Saaremaa. One interesting crew to watch out for is the fast Latvian driver Janis Feldmanis with Anrijs Jesse starting with Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X R4.

In the 2WD drive Classes, there will also be strong competition. Several drivers from many different countries come to Saaremaa to test their skills on the famous stages.

Rally Saaremaa is the last round of Estonian Rally Championship and also the last round of North European Rally Championship. On two days, a total of 11 stages will be held with total 115.72 SS kilometers will be contested.

More information: www.saaremaarally.eu