NEWS FLASH: Conrad Rautenbach named 2011 South African Rally Champion

After a months-long wrangle in appeals courts and hearings, it is today confirmed that Conrad Rautenbach (GreenFuel Ford Fiesta S2000) is the 2011 South African Rally Champion. Provisional winners Mark Cronje/Robin Houghton (Sasol Ford Fiesta S2000) are now demoted to second place overall, but Robin Houghton is still named as Co-Drivers’ Champion as Rautenbach’s co-driver Nicolas Klinger does not score points in the South African Rally Championship. This shock result comes as a result of the rendering of the Toyota Dealer Gauteng Rally as null and void, with no competitor scoring points.

The overall championship points have also changed, and please find attached a FULL FINAL Championship Standings for your perusal:

Conrad Rautenbach/Nicolas Klinger - Picture by Evan Rothman.