WRC Rallye Monte-Carlo: Day One Results

The four stages making up Day One of the WRC Rallye Monte-Carlo 2012 have come to a close, and to rally fans the overnight classification comes as no surprise. At the head of the field is eight-times WRC Champions Sebastien Loeb and Daniel Elena (Citroën Total World Rally Team), with MINI WRC’s Dani Sordo (MINI John Cooper Works WRC) in second and Petter Solberg (Ford World Rally Team) in third place overall. Impressive in fourth is the Super 2000 Skoda Fabia of Sebastien Ogier, beating the quicker and more powerful WRC Class beasts on the tight and twisty roads in the Ardeche region. Jari-Matti Latvala exited from the event early, leaving Solberg to fight for the team’s honour this week.

Overall Classification at the end of Day One:
01) S. Loeb (Citroën DS3 WRC) – 01h 30m 30.1s
02) D. Sordo (MINI John Cooper Works WRC) + 01m 04.2s
03) P. Solberg (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) + 01m 05.2s
04) S. Ogier (Skoda Fabia S2000) + 02m 21.1s
05) E. Novikov (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) + 02m 26.5s
06) M. Hirvonen (Citroën DS3 WRC) + 02m 30.0s
07) F. Delecour (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) + 02m 49.9s
08) P. Campana (MINI John Cooper Works WRC) + 04m 09.7s
09) O. Tanak (Ford Fiesta RS WRC) + 04m 14.0s
10) PG Andersson (Proton Satria Neo S2000) + 04m 33.8s