Ford’s 150 WRC points finishes by numbers

Ford created history this past weekend by becoming the first manufacturer to score 150 consecutive points finishes in the FIA World Rally Championship. Sixth place for Petter Solberg and Chris Patterson at Rally Argentina brought up the landmark achievement.

Here are some of the key numbers behind Ford’s record:
1 • The first rally in the scoring run was the 2002 Rallye Monte-Carlo when Carlos Sainz and Luis Moya finished third and Colin McRae and Nicky Grist were fourth. Both were driving Ford Focus RS World Rally cars.

6 • Victories at Rally Sweden, the most successful event.

8 • Ford Fiesta RS World Rally Cars finished in the top 10 at the 2011 Rally GB.

12 • Drivers who contributed to Ford’s record. They are Mikko Hirvonen (84 points finishes), Jari-Matti Latvala (48), Marcus Grönholm (29), Markko Märtin (28), François Duval (19), Toni Gardemeister (13), Roman Kresta (10), Carlos Sainz (9), Colin McRae (9), Petter Solberg (4), Janne Tuohino (2), Henning Solberg (1).

14 • Consecutive podiums for the official Ford team between 2006 Rally d’Italia Sardegna and 2007 Rally Mexico, and again from 2007 Rally Argentina to 2008 Rally Mexico.

18 • Countries in which Ford has won.

23 • Countries in which Ford has scored points.

27 • The percentage of rallies Ford has won during the 150 events.

40 • Ford wins.

50 • The 50th consecutive finish came at the 2005 Cyprus Rally when Toni Gardemeister and Jakke Honkanen finished fifth, one place ahead of Roman Kresta and Jan Možný.

75 • Rally New Zealand in 2006 marked not only the 75th consecutive finish, but it was also the rally in which Ford clinched the manufacturers’ world title.

96 • Podiums achieved.

100 • The centenary was reached at the 2008 Rally of Turkey when Ford claimed a 1-2 finish. Mikko Hirvonen and Jarmo Lehtinen won and Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila were second.

1983 • Points scored in the manufacturers’ championship.
– Credit: Ford World Rally Team.