Acropolis Rally of Greece set for fierce ERC competition

The Acropolis Rally’s FIA European Rally Championship (ERC) counter is already proving a success, with 21 crews signed up ahead of the closing date for entries at the reduced fee.

With the final closing date not until 12 March, several more star performers are set to register, with Nasser Al-Attiyah and Peugeot 208 T16 duo Kevin Abbring and Craig Breen among those also committed to taking part.

Included on the provisional list of entries received so far are ERC round two winner Esapekka Lappi, his factory Skoda team-mate Sepp Wiegand, Polish champion Kajetan Kajetanowicz (Ford Fiesta R5, pictured), top Czech trio Jaroslav Orsák, Jaromír Tarabus and Antonín Tlusťák (all Fabia S2000s), plus Peugeot 207 S2000-driving aces Robert Consani and Bruno Magalhães.

The FIA ERC Production Car Cup has attracted several rapid entrants including Martin Hudec, Vitaliy Pushkar and Tibor Erdi, while Ekaterina Stratieva will chase ERC Ladies’ Trophy honours in a Subaru Impreza N15. Meanwhile, ERC 2WD champion Zoltán Bessenyey returns to championship duty in his Honda Civic Type R and will face opposition from Romanian duo Alex Filip (Renault Clio R3) and Simone Tempestini (Citroën DS3 R3T).

The Acropolis Rally is based in Loutraki from 28-30 March and counts as round three of the all-action, 12-round ERC season. Click here for the provisional list of entries received so far.

ERC Rally Liepaja-Ventspils, Latvia 01-03 February 2013