[WATCH] Onboard through WRC Rallye Monte-Carlo most special stages

We’re gripped with rally fever. How does one overcome that sensation? Overwhelm yourself in YouTube.

We scoured YouTube for some of the most magical onboard videos in a wacky sort of preview to 16 special stages of the World Rally Championship’s Rallye Automobile Monte-Carlo. The 2019 edition will run from 22nd to 27th January.

We couldn’t find quite the right onboard videos. Instead, we placed exciting clips for SS1, SS6 and SS7 that we couldn’t possibly omit from this article.

Stage One: Helmets on, pace notes ready. Go!
This is 2007. Sebastien Loeb/Daniel Elena and their Citroen C4 WRC lead from start to finish. With “The Loeb Show” returning to the WRC for 6 rounds with Hyundai Motorsport this year, it’ll be interesting to follow. Nonetheless, here’s Loeb/Elena at their best on the Monte…

Stage Two: 2017: Bayons – Breziers (25.49km)
Tackling the snaking mountain roads is no mean feat. Add the drama and added challenges of night, and Jari-Matti Latvala/Miika Antilla (Toyota Yaris WRC) posted the 9th fastest time through this stage. This pairing fought from ninth position after SS02 to claim second place overall at the finish.

Stage Three: 2014: Montauban Sur L’Ouveze – Laborel 1 (19.34km)
The Irish pairing of Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle weren’t holding back in 2014’s SS3 in their Citroen DS3 WRC machine. They posted the sixth fastest time in that stage and posted consistently quick stages times to move from sixth overall to finish in third.

SS3: Kris Meeke/Paul Nagle (Citroen DS3 WRC) in 2014’s Monte. Brave.

Stage Four: 2014: Orpierre – St Andre de Rosans 2 (25.49km)
It was a rather tough stage for Frenchmen Sebastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo R WRC): they wrestled their Polo on the road, sweeping the lines. Ogier/Ingrassia worked their magic to pull themselves up the leaderboard from a lowly ninth to take victory with a 01min 18.9sec.

Stage Five: 2017: St Leger les Melezes – La Batie (16.83km)
Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul (Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC) would like to forget this rally… At this point of the rally they were 31.7sec in front and were in fine form. Then it went topsy-turvy for the Belgian crew. However, watch this talented crew take on these treacherous roads through SS5…

Stage Six: 2006: A terrific battle between Gronholm and the rest
The iconic sound of the boxer-driven Subaru over these sketchy roads makes for hair-tingling moments. Chris Atkinson/Glenn Macneall (Subaru Impreza S11 WRC) finished sixth overall at that year’s event, but it was all about Marcus Gronholm/Timo Rautiainen (Ford Focus RS WRC ’06) as they stormed to a dominant victory. No-one cared to tell Atko that as he whipped his Scoobie about!

Stage Seven: Motorsport’s Hall of Famer go at each other
With an entry list reading like a who’s who of motorsport’s Hall of Fame, this was a fantastic rally. I can still clearly remember following this on Rally Radio. Carlos Sainz/Marc Marti (Citroen Xsara WRC) showed their rivals (and team-mate) they weren’t in Monte-Carlo for vacation.

Stage Eight: 2002: Coaraze – Loda 1 (23.05km)
Tommi Makkinen and co-driver Kaj Lindstrom (Subaru Impreza S7 WRC) set the fastest time through SS8 in what was a fantastic ding-dong battle with a young upstart, Sebastien Loeb (Citroen Xsara WRC).

Stage Nine: 2014: Vitrolles – Faye 2 (49.03km)
Mads Ostberg/Jonas Andersson (Citroen DS3 WRC) showed they weren’t only snow specialists in what is a brilliant stage to claim second fastest through it. They sped to fourth place overall at the finish.

Stage Ten: 2005: Col de Braus – Col de L’Orme (7.33km)
Unbeatable. Or so was the consensus amongst spectators. Sebastien Loeb/Daniel Elena (Citroen Xsara WRC) had already established a margin over the rest of the field of nearly two minutes at this point in the event, but not for a second did they let up their commitment…

Stage Eleven: 2015: Prunieres – Embrun 2 (19.93km)
Formula One sensation Robert Kubica and Maciek Szczepaniak (Ford Focus RS WRC) might not have gained the ultimate success in rallying he so desired, but this stage showed his fearless talent.

Stage Twelve: 2002: Sospel – La Bollene 1 (32.72km)
Passion courses through Petter Solberg. He and co-driver Phil Mills were always up for a fight and in SS12 they set the fastest time over the Col de Turini in their Subaru Impreza S7 WRC.

Stage Thirteen: 2002: Loda – Luceram 1 (16.55km)
The Ford Focus RS WRC of Colin McRae and Nicky Grist were never so hustled as through this stage (as they posted the second fastest stage time) in a bid to grab a position on the final podium. He finished fourth overall just behind team-mate Carlos Sainz/Luis Moya.

Stage Fourteen: 2015: La Bollene Vesubie – Sospel (31.66km)
On the backfoot Sebastien Loeb/Daniel Elena (Citroen DS3 WRC) weren’t fighting for a podium position, but were for honour… 

Stage Fifteen: 2008: La Bollene Vesubie – Moulinet 1 (22.68km)
Another mind-blowing stage in this illustrious event’s history, Sebastien Loeb/Daniel Elena (Citroen C4 WRC) showed how to attack the Col de Turini…

Stage Sixteen: 2016: Col de L’Orme – St Laurent 2 (12.07km)
The other Sebastien has too dominated this event. Sebastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (Volkswagen Polo R WRC) not only put it all on the line to win the Power Stage and its bonus points, but he also won this event in style with nearly two minutes in hand over his rivals…

With your appetite for the WRC Rallye Automobile Monte-Carlo 2019, we take no responsibility for your data cap being exceeded these next weeks.